The Honorable James E. Clyburn, Speech to the 2022 Ford’s Theatre Gala

The Lincoln Medal is an annual award given by the Ford’s Theatre Society to a person (or persons) who, through their body of work, accomplishments or personal attributes, exemplify the lasting legacy, and mettle of character embodied by the most beloved President in our Nation’s history, President Abraham Lincoln. Past recipients of the Lincoln Medal include human rights activists Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu and Justice Albie Sachs; filmmaker George Lucas; actor Sidney Poitier; Dr. Maya Angelou; actress Ruby Dee; Congressman John Lewis; singer Aretha Franklin; Dr. Benjamin S. Carson, Sr., Director of the Division of Pediatric Neurosurgery, The Johns Hopkins Hospital; and Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, Former Associate Justice, United States Supreme Court.

Video footage by Blue Land Media.