A man and woman sit together on the ground
Jenny Fellner as Lucille Frank and Euan Morton as Leo Frank in the Ford’s Theatre Society production of Parade, directed by Stephen Rayne. Photo by T. Charles Erickson


The Tony Award-winning musical drama Parade is based on the true story of Leo Frank’s trial and lynching in early 20th-century Atlanta.

date September 23, 2011 — October 30, 2011

Ostracized for his faith and Northern heritage, Jewish factory manager Leo Frank is accused of murdering a teenaged factory girl the day of the annual Confederate Memorial Day parade. Alfred Uhry’s award-winning book and Jason Robert Brown’s rousing, colorful and haunting score illuminate a circus of conflicting accounts, false testimony and mishandled evidence in a town reeling with social and racial tension. Isolated from the world, Leo develops a new and deeper love for his wife, who tirelessly crusades for his freedom. Stephen Rayne (The Heavens Are Hung In Black, Sabrina Fair) directs this compelling and provocative tale of justice miscarried, revealing a country at odds with its declarations of equality. Tony-Award nominee Euan Morton stars as Leo Frank.

Part of The Lincoln Legacy Project.

Artistic Team

Book by Alfred Uhry
Co-conceived by Harold Prince
Director Stephen Rayne
Music and lyrics Jason Robert Brown
Choreographer Karma Camp
Music Director Steven Landau
Scenic Design Tony Cisek
Costume Design Wade Laboissonniere
Lighting Design Pat Collins
Sound Design David Budries and Charles Coes
Wig and Make-Up Design Anne Nesmith
Dialects Lynn Watson
Production Stage Manager Brandon Prendergast
Assistant Stage Manager Kate Kilbane
New York Casting David Caparelliotis, C.P.A.

From the Gallery